Ghana's most authoritative soccer website

CHAMPIONS AGAIN: Ampem Darkoa beat Hasaacas on penalties for record-equalling WPL title feat

Ampem Darkoa Ladies defeated Sekondi Hasaacas 5-3 on penalties to be crowned champions of the Ghana Women’s Premier League (WPL) for the successive season.

The 2022/23 league campaign was crowned at the Kwame Kyei Sports Complex at Abrankese Nyameani in the Ashanti Region on Friday, May 12.

A cautious approach in the first half saw no goal produced by either side.

Forward Doris Boaduwaa, however, broke the deadlock right on the hour mark with a header following a well-delivered cross from a corner kick by Fidous Yakubu.

Hasaacas’ breakthrough goal was long-coming after a bright start to the second half. Coach Yusif Basigi’s girls continued to dominate and created more openings but their attacks were repelled by the defending champions.

Ampem Darkoa, however, managed to pull parity with six minutes left in regulation time. Poor calculation by goalkeeper Grace Banwaa and a mistimed clearance by experienced defender Linda Eshun that followed allowed forward Ophelia Serwaa Amponsah to pounce and put the ball into the back of the net.

The scoreline stayed 1-1 after 30 minutes of extra time with the two sides needing to be separated by penalty shootouts.

Success Ameyaa missed the third kick for Hasaacas while Ampem Darkoa converted all their five takes to win the shootouts 5-3.

It is a record-equally four wins in the regular Women’s Premier League campaign for Nana Mma but Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies can boast of an extra trophy – the Normalization Committee Women’s Special Competition – that they beat their adversaries to in April 2019, all things being equal.

For their title success, Ampem Darkoa Ladies are entitled to GHS50,000 as prize money while Hasaacas also take home GHS30,000 as the second-best team at the end of the 2022/23 Ghana Women’s Premier League.

Ampem Darkoa Ladies also earn the slot to represent Ghana at the Wafu Zone-B qualifying tournament for the 2023/24 Caf Women’s Champions League. They failed in that quest after winning the WPL last season.



This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More