Ghana's most authoritative soccer website

Afcon 2023Q: Nuamah given first senior Ghana call-up, Alidu returns for Madagascar clash

Chris Hughton has named his Ghana squad for the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) penultimate Group E qualifier away to Madagascar.

The June 18, 2023 fixture – set to be refereed by Mauritian Patrice Milazar – kicks off at 17:00 at Stade Kianja Barea in Antananarivo.

Hughton’s squad of 24 players was released by the GFA on Tuesday with fast-rising Ernest Nuamah receiving his first senior call-up. The 19-year-old FC Nordsjælland forward proved his mettle with the Black Meteors during the U-23 Afcon qualifiers in March and has consistently been in form at his Danish club all season.

Qatar 2022 World Cup revelation Alidu Seidu is back with the Stars after missing out on the last due to injury. Germany-based striker Kwasi Okyere Wriedt has also returned to the fold.

Southampton defender Mohammed Salisu is a major absentee as he is yet to recover from an injury that forced him to pull out of the squad in March. His place is taken up by Nicholas Opoku who replaced him last time.

Club Brugge attacker Kamal Sowah is also excluded from this latest Black Stars squad.

Ghana currently top Group E with 8 points following two wins (Madagascar, Angola) and two draws (Central African Republic, Angola) in the first four matches of the qualifiers.

Invited players: 

Goalkeepers (3):

Lawrence Ati-Zigi (St. Gallen), Joseph Wollacott (Charlton Athletic), Abdul Manaf Nurudeen (KAS Eupen)

Defenders (8):

Denis Odoi (Club Brugge), Alidu Seidu (Clermont Foot), Gideon Mensah (AJ Auxerre), Patrick Kpozo (Sheriff Tiraspol), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City), Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo), Alexander Djiku (RC Strasbourg), Nicholas Opoku (Amiens)

Midfielders (5):

Thomas Partey (Arsenal FC), Mohammed Kudus (Ajax Amsterdam), Majeed Ashimeru (RSC Anderlecht), Salis Abdul Samed (RC Lens), Edmund Addo (Spartak Subotica)

Wingers (4):

Joseph Paintsil (KRC Genk), Osman Bukari (Red Star Belgrade), Kamaldeen Sulemana (Southampton), Ernest Nuamah (FC Nordsjælland)

Attackers (4):

Andre Ayew (Nottingham Forest), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace), Inaki Williams (Athletic Bilbao), Kwasi Okyere Wriedt (Holstein Kiel)



This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More