Ghana's most authoritative soccer website

Black Galaxies: 40 players named for final CHAN 2022 preps, Mo Alhassan snubbed

A provisional squad of 40 players has been named by Ghana coach Annor Walker for the 2022 Championship of African Nations (CHAN) in Algeria.

The Black Galaxies – runners-up in 2009 and 2014 – defeated Nigeria last September to return to the competition for home-country players after missing the past three editions.

The squad assembles at the Ghanaman Soccer Centre of Excellence in Prampram on Sunday, November 27. Coach Annor Walker will thus have approximately 48 days of preparation for the CHAN early next year. He will select his final team during this period.

All 40 invited players were drawn exclusively from the Ghana Premier League which is currently on a World Cup break after 8 games.

Hearts of Oak defender Mohammed Alhassan is the biggest absentee.

Mohammed Alhassan (15) celebrates goal

The centre-back – who scored in the 3-0 win against Benin at Cape Coast Stadium – was a constant feature in the side’s qualification for the tournament.

Dreams FC winger Sylvester Simba’s superb displays in the U-23 Afcon qualifiers for the Black Meteors have been rewarded with a call-up to the home-based senior national team.

The 2022 Championship of African Nations (CHAN) tournament gets underway on January 13 until the grand finale at Baraki Stadium in Algiers on February 4, 2023.

Housed in Group C, Ghana will base in Constantine and play all their matches at Mohamed Hamlaoui Stadium.

The Black Galaxies kick-start their campaign against Madagascar on Sunday, January 15 before taking on Sudan (third-place finishers in 2011 and 2018) in their second game four days later. Ghana and Morocco – who have won the last two editions – will then meet in their final group match on Monday, January 23.

All three of Ghana’s group games have the same kickoff time – 20:00 GMT.

Called-up players

Goalkeepers (4):

Abdulai Iddrisu (Bechem United), Danlad Ibrahim (Asante Kotoko), Stephen Kwaku (Great Olympics), William Essu (Legon Cities)

Right-backs (3):

Augustine Randolf (Karela United), Augustine Agyapong (Asante Kotoko), Kwadwo Amoako (Medeama SC)

Left-backs (4):

Dennis Korsah (Hearts of Oak), Yakubu Hamidu (Kotoku Royals), Benjamin Abaidoo (Medeama SC), Emmanuel Siaw (FC Samartex 1996)

Centre-backs (6):

Konadu Yiadom (Hearts of Oak), Michael Enu (Bibiani GoldStars), Emmanuel Anaful (Bechem United), Solomon Adomako (Great Olympics), Kwadwo Adde (Karela United), Godwin Abusah (FC Samartex 1996)

Defensive midfielders (5):

Razak Kasim (Great Olympics), Henry Ansu (Berekum Chelsea), Dominic Nsobila (Accra Lions), Maxwell Arthur (Dreams FC), Seidu Dauda (FC Samartex 1996)

Offensive midfielders (6):

Gladson Awako (Hearts of Oak), Amos Acheampong (Great Olympics), Sylvester Simba (Dreams FC), Suraj Seidu (Hearts of Oak), Derrick Fordjour (Medeama SC), Abdul Latif Anabila (Bechem United)

Wingers (5):

Evans Osei Wusu (Tema Youth), Jonah Attuquaye (Legon Cities), Daniel Afriyie Barnieh (Hearts of Oak), David Abagna (RTU), Stephen Diyou (Nsoatreman FC)

Strikers (7):

Kwame Otu (Vision FC), Bright Adjei (Aduana FC), Augustine Boakye (Kotoku Royals), Mezack Afriyie (Berekum Chelsea), Kwame Adom Frimpong (Aduana FC), Kofi Kordzi (Legon Cities), Seidu Abubakari (FC Samartex 1996)

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More