Ghana's most authoritative soccer website

2022 World Cup: Two home-based players as Ghana announce final squad

Ghana coach Otto Addo on Monday released his 26-man squad list for the Qatar 2022 Fifa World Cup.

The Black Stars will be heading into their fourth campaign at the Mundial with a group led by Inaki Williams, Thomas Partey, as well as captain Andre Ayew and his junior brother Jorden.

Kamal Sowah’s impressive form for Club Brugge in the Uefa Champions League has won him a spot despite declining a couple of invitations during the qualifiers.

There was also a first call-up for midfielder Salis Abdul Samed, 22, who has been a regular for high-flying RC Lens in the French Ligue 1 this season.

Former Spain international Inaki Williams and England under-21 international Tariq Lamptey, who threw in their lot with Ghana two months ago, were both included.

Ghana have been forced to name three inexperienced goalkeepers after their first two choices – Jojo Wollacott from Charlton Athletic and South Africa-based Richard Ofori – were both injured at their respective clubs.

Goalkeeper Danlad Ibrahim and forward Daniel Afriyie-Barnieh are the only two players from the Ghana Premier League.

Other well-known players in the list are Celta Vigo defender Joseph Aidoo, Brighton wing-back Lamptey and Ajax midfielder Kudus.

The Black Stars find themselves in a quite competitive Group H for the Qatar World Cup.

Ghana will go up against Portugal for their opening game on November 24, South Korea on November 28 and Uruguay four days later to complete the group stages.

The squad

Goalkeepers (3):

Lawrence Ati-Zigi (St Gallen), Danlad Ibrahim (Asante Kotoko), Manaf Nurudeen (Eupen)

Defenders (9):

Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City), Abdul-Rahman Baba (Reading), Alexander Djiku (Racing Strasbourg), Tariq Lamptey (Brighton & Hove Albion), Gideon Mensah (AJ Auxerre), Denis Odoi (Club Brugge), Mohammed Salisu (Southampton), Alidu Seidu (Clermont Foot)

Midfielders (6):

Andre Ayew (Al Sadd), Mohammed Kudus (Ajax Amsterdam), Daniel-Kofi Kyereh (SC Freiburg), Elisha Owusu (Gent), Thomas Partey (Arsenal), Salis Abdul Samed (Racing Lens)

Forwards (8):

Daniel Afriyie (Hearts of Oak), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace), Osman Bukari (Red Star Belgrade), Issahaku Abdul Fatawu (Sporting Lisbon), Antoine Semenyo (Bristol City), Kamal Sowah (Club Brugge), Kamaldeen Sulemana (Stade Rennes), Inaki Williams (Athletic Bilbao)


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More