Ghana's most authoritative soccer website

Black Meteors: 32 players called to camp for U-23 Afcon qualifying preps

Coach Ibrahim Tanko has named a squad of 32 players to begin camping for Ghana’s participation in the qualifiers to the Morocco 2023 U-23 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon).

The Black Meteors are exempted from the first of a three-round qualifying series set to begin this month – from September 19 to 27.

Ghana will be involved from the second and penultimate qualifying round where they await the winner of the first-round tie between Mozambique and Mauritius.

And head coach Tanko has received the all-clear to open camp with his team at Ghanaman Soccer Centre of Excellence (GSCE) in Prampram.

Twenty-six (26) players are expected to first report to the GSCE beginning Wednesday, September 7.

A group of six – Augustine Randolf, Suraj Seidu, Dominic Nsobila, Samuel Osei Kuffuor, Danlad Ibrahim and Daniel Afriyie Barnieh – who also fall within the U-23 age bracket have been drafted from the Black Galaxies team which just qualified for the 2022 Championship of African Nations (CHAN) tournament. They have, however, been excused from the first week of camping.

Road to Morocco 2023 U-23 Afcon:

  • Second Round

Mozambique/Mauritius vs Ghana

First Leg: October 21-23 | Second Leg: October 28-30

  • Third/Final Round

Mozambique/Mauritius/Ghana vs Ethiopia, DR Congo or Algeria

Dates: March 20-28, 2023.

Ghana will be seeking back-to-back qualification after the last U-23 Afcon outing in Egypt in 2019.

Seven (7) nations will secure tickets to join hosts Morocco for the 4th edition of the U-23 Afcon in June 2023. The tournament will serve as the selection platform for Africa’s representatives for the next Olympic Games, Paris 2024.

Invited Players:

Goalkeepers (3):

Dari Haruna Aziz (Bechem United), William Emmanuel Essu (Legon Cities), Gregory Obeng Sekyere (Berekum Chelsea)

Defenders (8):

Augustine Agyapong (Asante Kotoko), Aaron Essel (Bechem United), Emmanuel Adu Siaw (FC Samartex 1996), Eugene Ampofoh Amankwah (Benab FC), David Oppong Afrane (King Faisal), Jonas Adjei Adjetey (Berekum Chelsea), Bismark Anim (Mighty Jets), Kofi Asmah (Medeama SC)

Midfielders (8):

Emmanuel Adjei (Attram de Visser Academy), Sylvester Simba (Dreams FC), Abdul Razak Abdullah (Heart of Lions), Abass Salifu Samari (Accra Lions), Frank Owusu (Tamale City), Hafiz Ibrahim (Attram de Visser Academy), Isaac Oppong (Asante Kotoko), Richmond Darko (Tema Youth)

Wingers (4):

Hagan Frimpong (Accra Lions), Samuel Abbey Ashie Quaye (Great Olympics), Dede Ishmael (Dreams FC), Clinton Duodu (Bechem United)

Strikers (3):

Godwin Segla (Kotoku Royals), Mohamed Yahaya (Tamale City), Abdul-Razak Yusif (Great Olympics)

Excused from the first week of camping (6):

Augustine Randolf (Karela United), Suraj Seidu (Hearts of Oak), Dominic Nsobila (Accra Lions), Samuel Kuffour (Bechem United), Danlad Ibrahim (Asante Kotoko), Daniel Afriyie-Barnieh (Hearts of Oak)


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More