Ghana's most authoritative soccer website

CHAN 2022Q: Hearts dominate as 35 players head for Black Galaxies camp

Coach Annor Walker has named a 35-man squad to begin Ghana’s quest to qualify for the 2022 Championship of African Nations (CHAN) to be hosted by Algeria.

The Black Galaxies – who will be heading to camp for the first time on Monday, May 30 – will have about the next 54 days to prepare and be formidable enough to start their campaign.

Earlier on Thursday, the 2009 and 2014 finalists were drawn to face Benin in the only first-round tie for the Wafu Zone-B qualifying bracket.

Ghana will host the first leg on the weekend of July 22-24 with the second leg coming off the following weekend.

Ghana Premier League giants Hearts of Oak dominate Annor Walker’s squad with 7 players, followed by Bechem United and Great Olympics who contribute 5 and 4 players each. Also, Asante Kotoko and Dreams FC each have three players invited.

There are call-ups for two players from the Division One League – Tema Youth and New Edubiase United.

Camping opens from 4 pm at the Ghanaman Soccer Centre of Excellence in Prampram.

Should they overcome the Benin hurdle, Ghana will advance to face Nigeria for a ticket to the 2022 CHAN. The first leg is set for August 26-28 and September 2-4 is for the reverse.

The Black Galaxies have failed to qualify for the last three editions of the tournament designed exclusively for footballers based in their own domestic leagues.

The Algeria edition – which will for the first time have 18 teams – is scheduled for January 13 to February 4, 2023.

Full 35-player list:

Goalkeepers (4):

Abdulai Iddrisu (Bechem United), Danlad Ibrahim (Asante Kotoko), Richard Attah (Hearts of Oak), Stephen Kwaku (Great Olympics)

Defenders (10):

Michael Ampadu (Legon Cities), Augustine Randolf (Karela United), Mohammed Alhassan, Dennis Korsah (Hearts of Oak), Imoro Ibrahim (Asante Kotoko), Henry Ansu (Berekum Chelsea), Konadu Yiadom (WAFA SC), Samuel Osei Kuffour (Bechem United), Solomon Adomako (Great Olympics), Abdulai Ibrahim (Dreams FC)

Midfielders (10):

Dominic Nsobila (Accra Lions), Abdul Aziz Nurudeen, Suraj Seidu, Salifu Ibrahim (Hearts of Oak), Razak Kasim (Great Olympics), Francis Twene (Bechem United), Umar Basiru (Karela United), Augustine Roland Frimpong (RTU), Mudasiru Salifu (Asante Kotoko), Maxwell Arthur (Dreams FC)

Attackers (11):

Yaw Annor (AshantiGold), Augustine Okrah, Clinton Duodu (Bechem United), Jonah Attuquaye (Legon Cities), Bright Adjei, Sam Adams (Aduana FC), Daniel Afriyie Barnieh (Hearts of Oak), Agyenim Boateng Mensah (Dreams FC), Maxwell Abbey Quaye (Great Olympics), Evans Osei Wusu (Tema Youth), Isaac Mintah (New Edubaise United)



This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More