Ghana's most authoritative soccer website

Asamoah Gyan’s thoughts on Ghana’s penalty against South Africa

Former Black Stars skipper Asamoah Gyan says the controversial penalty Ghana got against South Africa in the 2022 World Cup qualifiers was a soft one.


Speaking in an interview with Asempa FM in Accra, the former Al-Ain forward said from what he saw initially, Daniel Amartey went down casually.

“From where I sit and how I saw it, I think Daniel Amartey went down too easily from the challenge.

“But the referee was closer to the spot and probably had a better view of the situation.”

He, however, stated that the referee was closer to the action so he gets the benefit of the doubt.

“Remember the tempo of the game also could have influenced the referee’s decision to award the spot-kick,” he added.

Andre Ayew converted the resultant spot-kick brilliantly to secure a 1-0 win that confirmed Ghana’s place in the final qualifying round.

Ghana await their opponent in the playoffs which will be decided December 18.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More