Ghana's most authoritative soccer website

Caf CL: Hearts register Awako, Afutu in 36-man squad [+FULL LIST]

Accra Hearts of Oak submitted a 36-man squad for their 2021/22 Caf Champions League campaign.

The Phobians included six new signings, namely: Gladson Awako (from Great Olympics), Enoch Asubonteng (free agent from WAFA SC), Isaac Agyenim Boateng (free agent from Medeama SC), Salim Adams (from New Edubiase United), Seidu Suraj (Phar Rangers) and returnee striker Kofi Kordzi from Qatari side Muaither SC.

Awako has the shirt number 7 with Asubonteng getting the No. 40; Agyenim Boateng – 28; Salim Adams – 35; Seidu Suraj – 39 and Kofi Kordzi taking up the number 9 for the back of his jersey.

Versatile defender Caleb Amankwah has swapped No. 77 for the No. 20 shirt.

Hearts also listed out-of-contract midfielder Benjamin Afutu while negotiations to have the 25-year-old renew his stay after three years with the club.

The one-time Caf Champions League winners are back in the competition after winning the 2020/21 Ghana Premier League title – the first time they achieved the feat in 12 years.

The double winners are Ghana’s sole representatives in the upcoming interclub season.

Hearts begin their campaign in the first preliminary round having to eliminate Guinean side Club Industriel de Kamsar in a two-legged tie this September.

The aggregate winner advances to vie for a slot in the 2021/22 Caf Champions League group stages with Wydad Athletic Club of Morocco later in October.

Hearts of Oak’s 36-man squad (with shirt numbers)

1. Benjamin Nana Yeboah
2. Abdul Fatawu Mohammed
3. Victor Aidoo
4. Franklin Owusu
5. Fredrick Ansah Botchway
6. William Ntori Dankyi
7. Gladson Awako
8. Benjamin Afutu Kotey
9. Kofi Kordzi
10. Emmanuel Nettey
11. Michelle Sarpong
13. Kwadwo Junior Obeng
14. Robert Addo Sowah
15. Mohammed Alhassan
16. Benjamin Mensah
17. Razak Patrick
18. Daniel Afriyie Barnieh
19. Daniel Yeboah
20. Caleb Amankwah
21. Isaac Mensah
22. Richmond Ayi
23. Suley Nuru
25. Larry Ibrahim Sumaila
27. Raddy Michel Hokemba Ovouka
28. Isaac Agyenim Boateng
29. James Yaw Sewornu
30. Richard Attah
31. Salifu Ibrahim
32. Anwar Abdul Basit
33. Richard Baidoo
34. Issah Akuka Issifu
35. Salim Adams
36. Razak Ali
38. Bernard Obuo
39. Seidu Suraj
40. Enoch Asubonteng



This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More