Ghana's most authoritative soccer website

Kurt Okraku to be made new Wafu-B President May 22

The West African Football Union (Wafu) Zone-B is expected to confirm Ghana FA boss Kurt E.S Okraku the new president of the regional body next month.

This is contained in a March 22 circular signed by Wafu Executive Director Boureima Balima.

The circular addressed to the Presidents and General Secretaries of its 7-member nations announced scheduling its 14th General Assembly for Ghana capital Accra on Saturday, May 22, 2021.

Part of the agenda for the meeting next month is for the approval of a new president for Wafu-B following the election of Niger’s Colonel Major Djibrilla Hima Hamidou to the Executive Committee of the mother body, the Confederation of African Football (Caf) last month.

And Kurt Okraku – who stepped down for Colonel Djibrilla in the Caf elections – has been proposed to, in principle, succeed the President of the Niger Football Federation as the new leader of the West African Football Union (Wafu) Zone-B.

Kurt Okraku is also currently the second Vice-Presidents for Zone-B of Wafu.

The West African Football Union (Wafu)

The Union is an association of the football-playing nations in West Africa.

The Caf regional football governing body has been in existence since 1975 with all current members and had Ghana’s K. Tandoh as first leader.

In 2011, the Executive Committee of Caf embarked on a reorganization exercise by breaking up Wafu – the regional body into Zones A and B due to organizational challenges.

The 16-nation regional body was thus will be split into two areas – Western Zone A and Western Zone B.

Ghana found itself in Zone B with closer neighbours Benin, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Niger, Nigeria and Togo.

Nine other countries –  Cape Verde, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Senegal and Sierra Leone – form Zone A.



This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More