Ghana's most authoritative soccer website

Black Stars to know Afcon 2021 opponents June 25

Ghana will discover their opponents at the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) on Friday, June 25, 2021.

The Confederation of African Football (Caf) confirmed the draw date for Cameroon 2021 Afcon after a virtual meeting by its Executive Committee on Tuesday.

The 24-team continental showpiece will also be held from January 9 to February 6 next year.

The Black Stars punched their ticket to the tournament for the ninth straight time by topping Group C of the qualifiers with 13 points ahead of Sudan (also qualified), South Africa and Sao Tome and Principe.

23 of the 24 teams that will make the trip to Cameroon in 2022 were confirmed during the March international break as the final games of the qualifiers took place around the continent.

One more slot is to be determined in June days before the draw is held. The ticket decider between Sierra Leone and Benin in Freetown could not hold on Tuesday due to controversy over COVID-19 results for the Squirrels. Caf has since resolved the match is played in the next international break in June.

In a bid to curb the challenges presented by COVID-19 and PCR tests, Caf has initiated discussions to set up – in collaboration with the WHO – independent bodies in charge of carrying out the tests, before the matches, this in particular in view of the CAN Total Cameroon 2021″.

The 2021 Afcon

The biennial competition was originally scheduled for this year but for the outbreak of COVID-19 which affected the qualifiers.

Afcon 2021 will now be staged in 2022 and expected to take place in six venues across the five Cameroonian cities of Yaoundé, Douala, Garoua, Limbe and Bafoussam.

The six stadiums selected to host matches are the Paul Biya Stadium and the Stade Ahmadou Ahidjo in the capital Yaoundé, the Japoma Stadium in Douala, the Limbe Stadium in Limbe, the Kouekong Stadium in Bafoussam and the Roumde Adjia Stadium in Garoua.

The opening ceremony as well as the opening match of the tournament and the final are set to take place at the newly built 60,000-seater Paul Biya Stadium in Yaoundé.

The 2021 Afcon will have 10 previous tournament winners – hosts Cameroon, Algeria, Tunisia, Egypt, Ghana, Cote d’Ivoire, Morocco, Nigeria, Sudan and Ethiopia – in participation.




This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More