Ghana's most authoritative soccer website

Afcon 2021Q: South Africa name 26 players for Ghana, Sudan ties

South Africa coach Molefi Ntseki has named his 26-man squad to face Ghana and Sudan in back-to-back games to wrap up the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifiers.

Bafana are scheduled to host the Black Stars at FNB Stadium in Johannesburg on Thursday, March 25 before travelling to face Sudan at Al Hilal Stadium in Omdurman three days later.

CoachNtseki has retained veteran shot-stopper Itumeleng Khune, despite his poor form for Kaizer Cheifs of late, while handing a maiden call-up to AmaZulu goalkeeper Veli Mothwa.

The quartet of Thibang Phete, Craig Martin, Ben Motshwari and Ruzaigh Gamildien have been named to chase their senior debuts.

South Africa are second in Group C, level on points with Ghana but one behind in goal difference, after four games played in the campaign. Sudan are third with 6 points with Sao Tome and Principe rock bottom on no point.

The top two from Group C qualify for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations, which had to be moved to 2022 due to the outbreak of COVID-19 last year. The continental showpiece is set to take place in Cameroon from January to February.

Full squad

Goalkeepers: Veli Mothwa (Amazulu FC), Ronwen Williams (Supersport United FC), Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs FC)

Defenders: Thibang Phete (OS Belenenses, Portugal), Siyanda Xulu (Haopel Tel Aviv, Israel), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Orlando Pirates), Mosa Lebusa (Sundowns), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates), Sifiso Hlanti (Moroka Swallows), Thapelo Morena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Craig Martin (Cape Town City)

Midfielders: Rivaldo Coetzee (Mamelodi Sundowns), Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thulani Serero (Al Jazira FC, Abu Dhabi), Ben Motshwari (Orlando Pirates), Bongani Zungu (Rangers FC, Scotland), Keagan Dolly (Montpellier FC, France), Percy Tau (Brighton and Hove Albion, England), Sipho Mbule (Supersport United), Andile Jali (Mamelodi Sundowns), Luther Singh (Paços de Ferreira, Portugal), Dean Furman (Carlisle United FC, England)

Strikers: Kermit Erasmus (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bradley Grobler (Supersport United), Ruzaigh Gamildien (Moroka Swallows FC), Lyle Foster (Victoria Guimaraes, Portugal)




This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More