Ghana's most authoritative soccer website

Madagascar call on two new players for Afcon qualifiers

Madagascar have called up two new players, teenage goalkeeper Mathias Randriamamy and midfielder Loic Lapoussin, for this month’s Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifiers against the Ivory Coast.

Coach Nicolas Dupuis also recalled South Africa-based Arohasina ‘Dax’ Andrianarimanana and Thailand-based striker Njiva Rakotoharimalala in selection.

The 17-year-old Randriamany is part of the Paris Saint Germain’s youth academy and seen as a bright prospect for the future. He was born in Clermont France but both parents are Malagasy.

The 24-year-old Lapoussin is also French born but now playing in Belgium’s second division. “At the last Nations Cup finals in Egypt, we had the oldest team, it had to be rejuvenated,” insisted Dupuis, who also called up one local player, AS Adema goalkeeper Nina Razakanirina.

“I would have liked to take more local players, but I can’t. The championship has not resumed and they are not in shape to play international matches,” explained the French-based coach.


Goalkeepers: Melvin Adrien (Martigues, France), Mathias Randriamamy (Paris St Germain, France), Nina Razakanirina (AS Adema)

Defenders: Thomas Fontaine (Lorient, France), Romain Métanire (Minnesota United, USA), Jérôme Mombris (Grenoble, France), Jérémy Morel (Lorient, France), Sylvio Ouassiero (Fola Esch, Luxembourg), Pascal Razakanantenaina (St Pierroise, Reunion)

Midfielders: Ibrahim Amada (Al Khor, Qatar), Anicet Andrianantenaina (Ludogorets Razgrad, Bulgaria), Arohasina Andrianarimanana (Black Leopards, South Africa), Dimitry Caloin (Ville France Beaujolais, France), Bastien Hery (Linfield, Northern Ireland), Marco Ilaimaharitra (Charleroi, Belgium), Loic Lapoussin (Royal Union St Gilloise, Belgium), Zotsara Randriambololona (Fleury 91, France), Rayan Raveloson (Troyes, France)

Forwards: Hakim Abdallah (Swift Hesper, Belgium), Carolus Andriamahitsinoro (Al Qadisiya, Saudi Arabia), William Gros (Fleury 91, France), Lalaina Nomenjanahary (Paris FC, France), Njiva Rakotoharimalala (Nongbua Pitchaya, Thailand), Alexandre Ramalingom (Sedan, France), Paulin Voavy (Misr El Makkasa, Egypt).



This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More