Ghana's most authoritative soccer website

GFA Elections: Premier clubs vote Achee, Amoako and three others onto ExCo

Ghana Premier League clubs have elected five members onto the new Ghana Football Association (GFA) Executive Council Thursday.

Their interest and that of the general development of the country’s football, for the next four years, will be pushed by officials from Medeama SC, AshantiGold SC, Asante Kotoko, Bechem United and Berekum Chelsea.

The elections held at the GFA Secretariat saw Medeama’s Board Chairman Anthony Aubynn book the first slot with 14 votes. The former Minerals Commission boss came into the picture late but has been able to meander his way through the contest.

AshantiGold CEO and journalist Frederick Acheampong (Achee) also made the cut with 11 votes.

Asante Kotoko CEO and Bechem United’s Kingsley Osei Bonsu have also been elected on the 12-member body with 10 votes each.

Berekum Chelsea’s Nana Sarfo Oduro picked the last seat for Premier League clubs with 9 votes – one more than Hearts of Oak CEO Frederick Moore, who missed out.

Astute football administrator Albert Aryeetey Commey also could not make the cut. The Aduana Stars Chief polled 7 votes.

The top-flight clubs were to elect only five representatives onto the Executive Council following the adoption of the new Ghana FA Statutes.





This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More