Ghana's most authoritative soccer website

#NCSpecial: Medeama move top after comeback win

Medeama claimed top spot in Premier A of the Normalization Special Cup after rallying from behind to beat Berekum Chelsea 2-1 at Len Clay Stadium Wednesday.

The match-day 1 outstanding fixture was played at Obuasi following a ban on Berekum Chelsea’s usage of the Golden City Park. The ‘Bibiries’ have been temporarily barred by the Normalization Committee based on the violent incident that occurred prior to their encounter with Asante Kotoko last Sunday.

Solomon Oblitey Commey scored a sublime goal to open the scoring for the hosts in the 28th minute, beating goalkeeper Yaw Ansah in posts.

Boosted by the lead, Berekum Chelsea piled more pressure and nearly secured their second goal through Oblitey Commey again but the youngster’s strike was cleared on the goal-line by defender Samuel Appiah.

Medeama, sensing danger, upped their game and in the 36th minute equalized through Awudu Tahiru. He headed home from a corner nicely taken by Agyenim Boateng.

In a spate of a minute goalkeeper Gideon Ahenkorah produced two fantastic saves to deny the Yellow and Mauves from getting their second goal.

But not too surprising, coach Samuel Boadu’s men netted their second goal on the day in the 43rd minute following incessant pressure through Toussaint Dedy Kalibo.

The Ivorian import beautifully chipped the ball over goalkeeper Ahenkorah, having picked a pass from Camara, who dummied his opponent.

The Tarkwa-based side managed to maintain their first half lead till the final whistle.

Medeama lead the log with 16 points, two more than Asante Kotoko.

Medeama next trek to Nkoranza to play Eleven Wonders Sunday while Berekum Chelsea play guests to AshantiGold in Obuasi. They have the chance to extend their lead with a win on Sunday as Kotoko will stand-by.



Berekum Chelsea XI: Gideon Ahenkorah – Emmanuel Asamoah-Abew, Fuseini Zackaria, Solomon Oblitey Commey, Braimah Ali Foster, Prince Anane, Kwame Antwi, Jonah Attuquaye, Emmanuel Owusu, Osman Iddrisu,

Medeama SC XI: Yaw Ansah Fufro – Samuel Appiah, Daniel Egyin, Yussif Musah, Bright Enchil – Justice Blay, Rashid Nortey, Camara N’guessan, Tahiru Awudu – Isaac Agyenim Boateng, Toussaint Dedy Kalibo.



By Daniel Osei




This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More