Ghana's most authoritative soccer website

#NCSpecial: Kotoko beat Berekum Chelsea 2-0, take first-round lead

Asante Kotoko recorded a 2-0 victory over Berekum Chelsea in their final game of the first round of the Normalization Special Cup Wednesday.

Two second half goals by forwards Emmanuel Gyamfi and Abdul Fatawu Safiu handed the Porcupine Warriors the deserving victory at the Baba Yara Stadium.

Akonnor’s charges dominated the early stages of the contest creating goal scoring opportunities but failed to convert.

Obed Owusu came close scoring but Zacharia Fuseini dispossessed him with a nice tackle.

Kotoko continued with some delightful passing game as the visitors resorted to sitting back to rely on counter attacks.

After a goalless first half, Kotoko pressed harder in search of the opener.

Emmanuel Gyamfi opened the scoring six minutes into the second half. Gyamfi headed home a corner from the foot of Jordan Opoku to beat goalkeeper Gideon Ahenkorah.

Few minutes later, Gyamfi had a huge chance to double the lead but the winger shockingly fluffed it. He rounded Ahenkorah but with the yawning net at his mercy, shot wide.

Obed Owusu made a great move into the penalty area but was impeded by goalkeeper Ahenkorah and the Porcupine Warriors were awarded with a penalty in the 68th minute.

Red-hot attacker Abdul Fatawu Safiu stepped up and expectedly converted to hand Kotoko a 2-0 lead, making it his sixth goal in as many games.

Berekum Chelsea opened up in bid to reduce the deficit but failed to find the back of the net.

Asante Kotoko currently lead the Premier A table with 13 points. Berekum Chelsea and Medeama – who are second on 10 points – clear their outstanding fixture on May 1 to complete the group’s first round schedule.



Asante Kotoko XI: Felix Annan – Amos Frimpong, Evans Owusu, Wahab Adams, Abdul Ganiu Ismail – Emmanuel Agyemang Badu, Emmanuel Gyamfi, Jordan Opoku, Kwame Bonsu – Abdul Fatau Safiu, Obed Owusu

Berekum Chelsea XI: Gideon Ahinkorah – Osei Bonsu, Zacharia Fusieni, Emmanuel Owusu ,A.Prince; Foster Ali Brimah , Francis Twene, Amoako Antwi, Seth Appiah Larbi, Jonah Attuquaye and Mohammed Alhassan



By Daniel Osei 



This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More