Ghana's most authoritative soccer website

Aduana win five-goal thriller over Liberty

Aduana Stars were winners of a five-goal thriller split 3-2 against Liberty Professionals in their Ghana Premier League matchday one outstanding fixture on Thursday.

The defending champions were very much offensive from start but it took them 15 minutes to register the opening goal through striker Bright Agyei.

Congolese import Ulitch Ikama Oba then made it 2-0 on the half-hour mark – the young winger looked fired up for a show in his first league start since arriving in December last year.

Liberty pulled one back through centre-back Simon Zibo in the 39th minute with the opening half of the encounter ending 2-1.

But 20 minutes into the second half, striker Yahaya Mohammed restored Aduana’s two-goal cushion – with his fourth of the ongoing campaign.

Liberty did not give up and were, within five minutes, rewarded with another goal from the boot of attacker Brite Andoh.

With 20 minutes to full-time, the visitors gave themselves some hope of snatching a point from the Nana Agyeman Badu I Park but Aduana, who equally could have scored further, maintained the 3-2 score-line up to the final whistle by referee Latif Adaari.

The result moves Aduana to 11 points from seven games honoured. They have five more outstanding games to clear.

Debutant Ulitch Ikama Oba, after scoring and providing an assist, capped his impressive outing with the NASCO Man-of-The-Match Award.



Aduana Stars XI: Joseph Addo – Caleb Amankwah, Justice Anane, Stephen Anokye Badu, Paul Aidoo – Gockel Ahortor/75’ Noah Martey, Emmanuel Boateng, Zakaria Mumuni/78’ Sam Adams, Ulitch Ikama Oba – Yahaya Mohammed, Bright Agyei

Unused subs: Gordon Yeboah, Farouk Adams, Elvis Opoku, Derrick Sasraku, Nathaniel Asamoah

Liberty XI: Kofi Baah – Michael Ampadu, William Dankyi, Prosper Avor, Aikins Kyei-Baffour, Simon Zibo © – Frederick Ansah, Flavien Kouassi, Emmanuel Amoh – Brite Andoh, Benjamin Eshun

Subs: George Amoako, Nasiru Zakaria Banahene, George Ansong, Alex Ofori Acheampong, Emmanuel Enning, Paa Kow Arthur, Tamimu Muntari



This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More