Medeama register 27 for 2016 Caf Confederation Cup

Medeama SC have registered a 27-man squad for their second outing in the Caf Confederation Cup competition for 2016, can confirm.

The Mauve and Yellows are Ghana’s sole representatives in the competition this term by virtue of their winning last season’s domestic Cup challenge, the MTN FA Cup, where they beat holders Asante Kotoko 2-1 in the finals late in August.

Coach Tom Strand’s squad includes four new signings to last season’s squad – Michael Sai (goalkeeper), Patrick Opoku (defender), Paul Aidoo (defender), Enock Atta Agyei

The list has only seven surviving members from the squad that featured and got kicked out by AC Leopards in the play-offs of the 2014 Caf Confederation Cup. They include; Muntari Tagoe, Samuel Adade, Ishmael Hammond, Malik Akowuah, Victor Ayirey, Joseph Gordon and Kwame Boahene.

Medeama have been drawn bye in the prelims and await the winner of the Ittihad Tripoli (Libya) and AS Sondiep (Niger) tie at the first round of the competition. They play away first on the weekend of March 4-6 before hosting the return leg on March 20, 2016.



Goalkeepers: 1. Yaw Ansah Fufuro, 16. Michael Sai, 21. Mohammed Muntari Tagoe

Defenders: 4. Daniel Amoah, 12. Moses Amponsah Sarpong, 13. Samuel Adade, 15. Ishmael Hammond, 17. Francis Nuer Addo, 20. Patrick Opoku, 25. Paul Aidoo

Midfielders: 2. Samuel Bio, 3. Dominic Eshun, 5. Malik Akowuah, 6. Victor Ayirey, 7. Eric Kwakwa, 8. Joseph Gordon, 11. Kwame Boahene, 19. Conney Idan, 22. Michael Ohene Agyei Asamoah, 24. Kwesi Donsu, 26. Emmanuel Agyemang, 27. Jorday Kofi Aidoo

Attackers: 9. Benjamin Bature, 10. Enock Atta Agyei, 14. Abass Mohammed, 18. Philip Aseweh, 23. Bismark Oppong