AFCON 2017 qualifiers: Tears for Nigeria, celebrations for Morocco

Nigeria have failed to qualify for the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations after falling to a 1-0 defeat in Egypt in their Group G match on Tuesday.

With just one game remaining and only the group winners to qualify, Nigeria cannot make up their five-point deficit to table-toppers Egypt.

Ramadan Sobhy’s 65th-minute winner puts Egypt on the verge of qualification for the first time since 2010.

Egypt face Tanzania in June and will book their place in Gabon with any result better than a 3-0 defeat. Nigeria won the Nations Cup in 2013 but have now suffered back-to-back eliminations in qualifying.

Meanwhile, Morocco became the first team to qualify for the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations after beating Cape Verde 2-0 in their Group F match on Tuesday.

Morocco go through as group winners, leading Cape Verde by six points and having already beaten them twice.

Ethiopia held Algeria 3-3 to prevent the Desert Foxes booking their place at the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations.

Algeria would have qualified for the tournament had they beaten Ethiopia, who they had thrashed 7-1 in Blida in their first group meeting on Friday.

Algeria are top of Group J with 10 points, five points clear of Ethiopia with two matches left to play.

Emmanuel Adebayor ended his self-imposed international exile but failed to fire Togo past Tunisia in their 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier.

The Crystal Place striker had not played for his country since June and rejected a call-up for Friday’s match away to Tunisia, which Togo lost 1-0. He returned for Tuesday’s match in Lome but his side were held 0-0 by their Group A rivals.

Tunisia and Togo have seven points but it is Liberia who lead the group. The Lone Star thrashed Djibouti 5-0 on Tuesday evening in Monrovia to go two points clear at the top of the group with two matches remaining.

Only the 13 group winners are guaranteed passage to the finals in Gabon next year, with the two best runners-up joining them.

View full results below:

29.03. 16:00 Morocco Cape Verde 2 : 0
29.03. 15:00 Sudan Ivory Coast 1 : 1
29.03. 14:00 Egypt Nigeria 1 : 0
29.03. 14:00 South Africa Cameroon 0 : 0
29.03. 13:30 Gambia Mauritania 0 : 0
29.03. 13:00 Angola D.R. Congo 0 : 2
29.03. 13:00 Liberia Djibouti 5 : 0
29.03. 13:00 Uganda Burkina Faso 0 : 0
29.03. 12:00 Namibia Burundi 1 : 3
29.03. 12:00 Togo Tunisia 0 : 0
29.03. 11:00 Ethiopia Algeria 3 : 3
29.03. 11:00 Niger Senegal 1 : 2
29.03. 10:30 Rwanda Mauritius 5 : 0
29.03. 10:00 Lesotho Seychelles 2 : 1
29.03. 09:30 Malawi Guinea 1 : 2

Leave a Reply