Connect with us

Latest News

VIDEO: KP Boateng nominated for 2017 Puskás Award

A goal by Ghana’s Kevin-Prince Boateng for former club Las Palmas last season is among the nominees for the 2017 Puskás Award by Fifa.

On October 23 last year, the midfielder scored the match opener with a spectacular scissor-kick directly from teammate Tana’s acrobatic, back-heel pass as Las Palmas suffered a 2-1 defeat away to Villarreal in the La Liga.

That goal by Boateng, who now features for Germany’s Eintracht Frankfurt, has been selected to compete with others by Olivier Giroud, Moussa Dembele, Nemanja Matic, Jordi Mboula and five others as the best goal scored in the year.

The Puskás Award is given to the scorer of the best goal over a given 12-month period. It is named in honour of Hungarian striker Ferenc Puskas, who scored 512 goals in 528 matches and is widely ranked among the greatest players in footballing history.

The winner of the Puskás Award is determined by public voting.

Parts of a statement by Fifa read:

The much-anticipated ten-goal shortlist for the FIFA Puskás Award has now been revealed, with voting open to users from around the world. Who will succeed Malaysian Mohd Faiz Subri, the winner of the 2016 award for his incredible free kick? This year’s selections certainly do not disappoint, so head over to the voting page to start watching, and then submit your considered vote.

You can vote in this round until Monday 9 October, when the candidates will be trimmed down to three final nominees. Then, you will get another vote, for one of the final trio, with both rounds of voting contributing to the final total. All voting for the Puskás Award will close during the ceremony on 23 October 2017.

Kevin-Prince Boateng (Ghana/Las Palmas/23.10.2016)
Alejandro Camargo (Argentina/Universidad de Conception/04.12.2016)
Deyna Castellanos (Venezuela/Venezuela U-17 Women national team/24.10.2016)
Moussa Dembele (France/Celtic FC/05.02.2017)
Olivier Giroud (France/Arsenal/01.01.2017)
Aviles Hurtado (Colombia/Tijuana Xolos/01.04.2017)
Mario Mandzukic (Croatia/Juventus/03.06.2017)
Oscarine Masuluke (South Africa/Baroka FC/30.11.2016)
Nemanja Matic (Serbia/Chelsea/23.04.2017)
Jordi Mboula (Spain/ FC Barcelona Youth/22.02.2017)





Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Latest News

error: You want to copy huh? Sorry!!