Connect with us

Latest News

CHAMPIONS! Ghana run Nigeria ragged to win 2017 Wafu Cup

Ghana Black Stars’ sparkle dazed the Super Eagles of Nigeria as they crushed their arch rivals to a 4-1 defeat to lift the 2017 Wafu Cup on Sunday.

Stephen Sarfo’s brace, one each from Vincent Atingah and Winful Cobbina were enough for the tournament hosts to be crowned champions while Rabiu Ali scored a late consolation at the Cape Coast Stadium.

The game looked scrappy for a larger part of the first half but the tournament hosts created the most chances.

Nigeria were forced into an early substitution on the 40th minute mark with an injured Olamilekan Adeleye making way for Emmanuel Ariwachukuwu.

Ghana’s continuous pressure paid off just before recess when Stephen Sarfo showed his predating instinct by firing a low shot after a turn just inside the box to beat goalkeeper Ezenwa Ikechukwu, 1-0.

Back from recess, the Super Eagles, in their chase for the equalizer began to dominate play until Ghana coach threw in the diminutive winger Patrick Razak to augment his attack.

And just a minute after coming on for Gideon Waja, Razak was fouled in the box.

Regular penalty taker Vincent Atingah elected himself and put the ball away, doubling the lead for the Black Stars.

Things turned worse for Nigeria in the 77th minute as Patrick Razak yet again awarded a penalty after he got recklessly hacked down by defender Stephen Eze.

Centre-back Atingah who had picked up an early yellow card was eventually given the marching orders for a second bookable offence in the 90th minute.

Razak capped a super-sub performance with a third assist in added time after his persistent pressure on goalkeeper Ezenwa earned him the ball before finding Winful Cobbina to score Ghana’s goal number 4 on the night.

Nigeria however found a consolation goal through the experienced Rabiu Ali who struck a free-kick from 22 yards into the back of the net to end the game at 4-1.

Ghana walk home with a $100,000 prize money for their 2017 Wafu Cup success.


Ghana: 1. J Addo, 2. Frimpong, 12. S Sarfo, 5. Atingah, 6. Abbey, 10. Cobbina, 18. Lomotey, 7. Twum, 8. Waja (17. Razak 57’), 15. K Sarfo (9. Addo 81’), 13. Kizito (14. Adams 68’).

Nigeria: 1. Ezenwa, 2. Okoro, 6. Eze, 12. Adeleye (5. Ariwachukwu 40’), 3. Akas, 4. Aremu, 8. Ifeanyi, 7. Friday (14. Okechukwu 46’), 11. P Moses, 10. Ali, 9. Okpotu (18. Eduwo 70’).








Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Latest News

error: You want to copy huh? Sorry!!